Blackboard User Addition or Removal

Blackboard Learning Management System (LMS) is a web-based tool used to organize and deliver materials and engage learners. Blackboard provides tools and functions for file sharing, grading, wikis, discussion boards, and more. Students and instructors are automatically added to a course within 24 hours of enrolling.

Instructors can request to have additional users (like teaching assistants or other colleagues) added to their Blackboard course. Due to FERPA and other laws, inquiries will be made of the requestor for any student user additions and have the potential to be denied.

Instructors can also request to have users who were not enrolled through DUSIS to be removed or deleted. If users are deleted from a course, their data is also removed from the course. In order to have users data to remain, they may be marked as ‘unavailable’ to remove their access, but not access to their data.(Faculty/Staff only)

What to Expect

If you need to add or remove multiple users with different roles, you will need to submit separate requests for each course per role. Users are added within one business day after the request is received.

Requirements

In order to request a user addition or removal you will need to provide the following information:

  • Course Term
  • Course Number (CRN)
  • User ID or users first and last name
  • Is this a request for addition or removal?
    • Addition: Course Role (Which role will the users have in the course?)
    • Removal: Reason for removal (if applicable)