Forgetting a Wireless Network (How-To)

In this article you will find step-by-step instructions on how to forget a wireless network on Windows computers, Mac computers or iPhones. This is an important step to take when troubleshooting wireless network issues with incorrect configuration or authentication information.


1. For Windows Computers

  1. Click on the Network icon in the lower right corner of the screen.
  2. Click on Network & Internet Settings.
  3. Select Wifi.
  4. Select Manage known networks.
  5. Find the wireless network you want to forget in the list (in this example, that's eduroam), and click Forget.
Network Icon on Windows

Network & Internet Settings

Wi-Fi menu

Manage known networks screen

Forgetting eduroam screen

 

2. For Mac Computers

  1. Click the Apple icon in the top left corner of the screen.
  2. Go to System Preferences in the drop down menu.
  3. Click the Network icon.
  4. Make sure Wi-Fi is selected in the left panel.
  5. Click the Advanced… button.
  6. Find the wireless network you want to forget in the Preferred Networks list and make sure it’s highlighted 
  7. Select the - (minus) button to remove the network.
  8. Click OK.
  9. Click Apply.

Apple menu image

System Preferences menu

Network option

Network menu options

Wi-Fi screen

Apply button

3. For iPhones

  1. Open Settings on iPhone.
  2. Tap on Wi-Fi.
  3. Find the network you want to forget and tap the i on the right of it.
  4. Tap Forget this Network.
  5. Tap Forget.

Settings

Settings menu

My Networks screen

Forget This Network screen

Forget button

 

Details

Article ID: 115173
Created
Tue 9/1/20 8:57 AM
Modified
Tue 9/1/20 9:44 AM